ComBio Student Travel Awards

Student members of ASPS may also apply in advance for a travel award to attend ComBio 2022, if presenting their research as either a poster or talk. Applications are due July 4th 2022 to the Hon. Treasurer of ASPS: Mike Haydon

Funds are set aside each year by ASPS to sponsor student travel to our annual conference (ComBio2022, IPMB2023) to contribute to their professional development in plant science.

Applicants are encouraged to apply for ASPS student travel grants so that they can use the ASPS funding to assist in leverage of additional funding. Support will vary from year to year depending on the Society finances, meeting location and the number of applications. The Treasurer will apply a formula in calculating individual entitlements and takes these factors into account. Student members are eligible to receive a maximum of two student travel awards during their ASPS student membership years.

It is a requirements that applicants and their supervisor must be current financial members of ASPS. The applicant must be able to bank an Australian cheque or have access to an Australian bank account.

Funding is contingent on presentation of poster or oral at the conference you receive funds to attend and submission of a 250 word report with picture to our Society newsletter Phytogen.

Successful applicants will be notified two weeks after the deadline. The application form for ComBio2022 Student Travel Grant can be downloaded HERE.

Congratulations to those awarded an ASPS travel grant

2019 2018 2017 2015 2014
Maketalena Akau’ola, University of Newcastle Aruni Alahakoon, Uni Melb  Aruni Alahakoon, Uni Melb Katherine Dumschott, Syd Pramesha Madurangi Singappuli Arachchige
Leilasadat Asadyar, Queensland University of Technology Beatriz Contreras, U Tas  Lui Guo, CSIRO  Albina Iylasova, UWA Muhammad Ahsan Asif
Deepak Baranwal, University of Sydney Buddhini Ranawaka, QUT  Rouja Haghdoust, Uni Syd  Eisrat Jahan, Syd Alice Burgess
Nick Booth, Flinders University Christopher Waterman, Flinders U  A.S.M.Mainul Hasan, Uni Tas  Muhammad Kamran, UA Harmony Clayton
Abi Ghifari, University of Western Australia Duc Quan Nguyen, U Newcastle  Shahnoosh Hayamanesh, Uni Syd  Hammad Khan, UWA Jonathan Dragwidge
Pawel Gluza, University of Melbourne Eric Brenya, WSU  Si Li, Uni Syd  Wenjing Li, Syd Patrick Hayes
Tetsuya Ishikawa, University of Tasmania Johanna Wong, WSU  Viviana Rosati, Monash  Nuraziiah Mustapha, UQ Ashley Jones
Haoyu Lou, University of Adelaide Lakshmi VM Vittal, Deakin U  Muhammed Uddin, Uni Syd  Lei Ru, Newcastle Hammad Khan
Peter McGuiness, University of Tasmania Marzia Bilkiss, Griffith U  Yoav Yichie, Uni Syd  Arjina Shrestha, Syd Daniel Kollehn
Ying Meng, University of Adelaide Nick Booth, Flinders U  Viridana Silva-Perez, ANU Siyang Liao
Hoai Phan, University of Adelaide Nicole Pontarin, U Picardie  Millicent Smith, Syd Karen Loucos
Buddhini Ranawaka, Queensland University of Technology Pei Qin Ng, U Adelaide  Zhengyu Wen, UA Rushna Munir
Zeenat Rupawalla, University of Queensland Ronan Broad, Uni Melb  Belinda Worland, UQ Dilrukshi Nagahatenna
Chenglei Wang, University of Tasmania Sajitha Biju, Uni Melb Suresh Panta
Miing Yong, Western Sydney University Sally Buck, ANU Williams Percey
Sayed Mohsin, Kagawa U Johannes Scharwies
Yagiz Alagoz, WSU Arjina Shrestha
Yu Zhou, ANU Muhammad NoumanSohail
Shbnam Tarahi Tabrizi
David Thomas
Stephanie Watts-Williams
Jon Wignes
Honghong Wu
Xue Xia
Zeyu Xiao
Min Zhu