ASPS 2021

Adelaide – Brisbane – Canberra – Hobart – Melbourne – Perth – Sydney



CANBERRA NODE

8:30-8:55 Registration @ ANU Commons rooms – 3 Rimmer St, Acton

9:00-10:30 Welcome/Session 1

Julian Greenwood – Genome-wide association study uncovers novel alleles of two rice blast resistance genes

Florence Danila – An atlas of plasmodesmata density between photosynthetic cells throughout early leaf development of C3 and C4 species

Jessica Hyles – Disruption of the photoperiodic flowering response in Australian wheat cultivar, Revenue

Bayantes Dagvadorj – Parastagonospora nodorum effector ToxA interacts with wheat NHL proteins to induce Tsn1-mediated cell death

Samantha McGaughey – A selectivity switch in the Arabidopsis aquaporin AtPIP2:1: ion and water permeability differentially regulated by kinases

10:30-11:00 Morning Tea

11:00-11:20 Rapid talks

Rose Zhang – Photosynthetic and nodulation responses of Medicago truncatula under elevated CO2 conditions

Upul Vithanage – Using targeted metabolomics to identify flavonoids in root exudates during the interaction of chickpea with nitrogen-fixing symbionts and root knot nematodes

Angus Rae – New methods for confocal imaging of infection threads in crop and model legumes **Pinhui Wang** – The identification of flavonoids which can modulate polar auxin transport during nodule development in Medicago truncatula

11:20-12:40 Session 2

Pieter-Willem Hendriks – A recurrent selection for increased shoot vigour in wheat modified root hair length and epidermal cell size in the roots and leaves.

Annamaria De Rosa – Deciphering aquaporin functional roles in salt-secreting mangrove Avicennia marina.

Maria Ermakova – Expression of the CO2-permeable aquaporin SiPIP2;7 enhances CO2 diffusion in leaves of C4 species Setaria viridis

Daniel Yu – A new structural family of effectors from Fusarium oxysporum adopt a dual-domain fold **Spencer Whitney** – Enhancing Rubisco catalysis improves plant growth

12:40-2:00pm Lunch



ASPS 2021

Adelaide – Brisbane – Canberra – Hobart – Melbourne – Perth – Sydney



Goldacre Award Seminar: Joanna Melonek (UWA) Unlocking the genetic secret of cytoplasmic male sterility and fertility restoration in cereals

Jan Anderson Award Seminar: Kim Johnson (La Trobe) Developing a passion for cell walls

FBP Best paper: Ximeng Li (Western Sydney) Water regulation of cotton plants and its response to climate change

Education and Outreach: Kim Johnson and Monika Doblin (La Trobe) A taste of tomorrow

RN Robertson Lecture: Christine Beveridge (UQ) Network thinking for shoot architecture and path to impact in food production

4:30-5pm Mixer followed by BBQ Dinner @ 6pm



ASPS 2021

AUSTRALIAN SOCIETY OF PLANT SCIENTISTS

PUBLISHING

Thanks you to our sponsors









Institutional Support La Trobe Institute for Agriculture and Food Uni of Adelaide, Waite Research Institute, Flinders University, College of Science and Engineering ANU, Research School of Biology QUT, Centre for Agriculture and the Economy University of Tasmania, Biological Sciences