The ASPS Committee is comprised of elected volunteers from the Australian plant-science community.


Associate Professor Kathleen Soole

Flinders University, SA   Academic website

Research interests: Cell/Tissue Physiology and Cell biology

Elected: October 2017

Honorary Treasurer

Dr Rosemary White

CSIRO Plant Industy, ACT Academic website

Research interests: Plant development and Cell biology

Elected: October 2016


Honorary Secretary

Dr Vanessa Melino

School of Agriculture and Food, Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences, University of Melbourne Twitter: | @vanessa_melino

Academic websites:

Research Interests:

Elected: October 2018

John Evans

Public Officer

Dr John Evans

Research School of Biology, Australian National University Academic website

Research Interests: Global Change, Cell/Tissue Physiology



Past President

Professor Sergey Shabala

School of Land and Food, The University of Tasmania Academic website

Research interests: stress physiology; membrane transport; abiotic stress signalling; ecophysiology

Elected: October 2015


ASPS Committee Meetings involve the members of the Executive Committee (President, Past President/President Elect, Hon. Treasurer, Hon. Secretary, Public Officer), the seven discipline representatives and research student representatives, and invited non-elected members (Editor of Functional Plant Biology, Editor of Phytogen, Editor of Plants in Action).

Nomination forms for committee positions can be downloaded here.

Previous ASPS Committees can be found here.