2023 Committee

The ASPS Committee is comprised of elected volunteers from the Australian plant-science community.



Professor Martha Ludwig

University of Western Australia, WA

Academic website

Research interests: Genetics/Molecular Biology and Cell biology

Elected: November 2021


Honorary Treasurer

Dr Mark Waters

The University of Western Australia, WA

Academic website

Research interests: 

Elected: November 2022


Honorary Secretary

Dr Kim Johnson

Animal, Plant and Soil Science, School of  Agriculture, Biomedicine and Environment. Biology, La Trobe University, VIC K.Johnson@latrobe.edu.au

Academic website

Research Interests:

Elected: November 2021

Public Officer

Dr John Evans

Research School of Biology, Australian National University john.evans@anu.edu.au Academic website

Research Interests: Global Change, Cell/Tissue Physiology

Past President

Dr Peter Ryan

CSIRO, ACT Peter.Ryan@csiro.au Academic website

Research interests: Genetics, Molecular Biology, Environment and Ecophysiology

Elected: October 2020


ASPS Committee Meetings involve the members of the Executive Committee (President, Past President/President Elect, Hon. Treasurer, Hon. Secretary, Public Officer), the seven discipline representatives and research student representatives, and invited non-elected members (Editor of Functional Plant Biology, Editor of Phytogen, Editor of Plants in Action).

Nomination forms for committee positions can be downloaded here.

Previous ASPS Committees can be found here.