Student Travel Awards

Student members of ASPS may apply in advance for a travel award to attend IPMB2024, if presenting their research as either a poster or talk. Applications are due Friday 5 April 2024 to the Hon. Treasurer of ASPS: Mark Waters ( The IPMB2024 earlybird registration and abstract submission also close on 5 April 2024.

Funds are set aside each year by ASPS to sponsor student travel to our annual conference (or affiliated conferences) and to contribute to student professional development in plant science. This year, we are funding travel to IPMB2024 in Cairns (24-28 June).

Applicants are encouraged to apply for ASPS student travel grants so that they can use the ASPS funding to assist in leverage of additional funding. Support will vary from year to year depending on the Society finances, meeting location, and the number of applications. The Treasurer will apply a formula in calculating individual entitlements, taking these factors into account. Student members are eligible to receive a maximum of two student travel awards during their ASPS student membership years.

It is a requirement that applicants and their supervisor must be current financial members of ASPS. The applicant must have access to an Australian bank account to receive electronic payments.

Funding is contingent on presentation of a poster or an oral presentation at the conference you receive funds to attend and submission of a 250 word report with picture to our Society newsletter Phytogen.

IPMB2024 organising committee is also offering a limited number of travel grants. Please note that you can only be awarded EITHER an ASPS award OR an IPMB2024 award. Please do not apply for both. Bear in mind that applications for IPMB travel awards will be open to delegates from around the world and likely awarded based on need, whereas ASPS awards are only available to current ASPS student members.

Successful applicants will be notified one month after the deadline. The application form for a Student Travel Grant can be downloaded HERE.

Congratulations to those awarded an ASPS travel grant to travel to ASPS 2023 in Hobart:

Given name Surname Institution
Belinda Akomeah UoA
Swathy Anija Hari Kumar Western Sydney
Lucas Auroux La Trobe
Navya Beera Uni Melb
Tasnim Bhuiyan Western Sydney Uni
Chris Buckley Uni Melb
Rebecca Carra Uni Melb
Lingling Chen UWA
Ming Cheng UQ
Nicolas Dimopoulos Southern Cross University
Garima Dubey Western Sydney
Arka Dutta La Trobe
Judith Eglitis_Sexton UQ
Oscar Fung UoM
Alison Gill UoA
Emma Gillingham La Trobe
Zheng Gong UQ
Alistair Hockey UWA
Maddy Holland UWA
Eleanor Imlay University of Sydney
Sara Jalali UoA
Tasha James University of Canberra
Amanda Johnson QUT
Jack Kelly UoA
Benjamin Kurya UoA
Grace Liang University of Sydney
Shutong Liu UWA
Yuhan Liu UQ
Hao Long QUT
Makala Manivannan Western Sydney
Zane Marks UoA
Alexandra Mattinson UQ
Anu Middha Western Sydney Uni
Thi Diem Nguyen UoA
Samuel Nix ANU
Matthew Nolan Southern Cross University
Tiantian Pan Western Sydney Uni
Rucha Patil UoM
Diksh Raina ANU
Pratima Rana Shahi Uni New England
Sneha Reddy UWA
Jemma Restall UQ
Daniela Richaud UQ
Norman Samantha UWA
Alex Seward UoA
Saiyara Shehnaz UQ
Romika Shrestha Western Sydney
Kususmitha Shrinivasan UQ
Saber Sohrabi UoA
Gilang Suhono UWA
Nicole Thomson UoM
Andy Tuckey UWA
Claudia Vacca Western Sydney
Shanice Van Haeften UQ
Yijie Wang UQ
Benjamin Wee La Trobe
Natasha Weinberger Western Sydney Uni
Russell Woodford ANU
Guiherme Yoshikawa UoA
Maryam Zarean Uni Melb
Yan Zhang UQ
Yang Zhao La Trobe

Past ASPS student travel award recipients are listed HERE.